Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note to Faculty
Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible online teaching and learning materials. They can be videos, textbooks, quizzes, learning modules and more. Using OER in your classroom will improve student engagement and success, provide immediate, equitable access to resources, save money for your students, and provide you a venue to use flexible, high-quality learning materials in your individualized curriculum. This guide collects the best-of-the-best OER and organizes them by college and department. Take a look and see what is available in your discipline.
- Open Textbook is a term used to indicate a Textbook that is fully OER.
- Public Resources are materials that are free, but licenses still protect the content in some way.
- Library Resources do not cost your students any money, and should also be considered as a means to lower the total cost of learning for your students.
- Affordable Learning Materials: course materials that cost students $50or less, in total.
Tips for finding and using OER and other affordable content:
- There are lots of OER materials out there. It takes time and persistence to find the ones that best fit your students' academic and research needs.
- Instead of focusing on the textbook that you want to replace, focus on what you want your students to know or do.
- Use the resources in this guide to find OER relevant to your discipline and courses. These links are great starting points but if you are not finding the OER that work for you, contact your subject librarian for personalized help.
- If you find an article in a library database that you want to use in a course, Library staff can help you with copyright considerations and provide access to the resource through reserves, embed in an online course, or on a website.
- Talk with your subject librarian with any questions you have about finding and using OER.
Links to more detailed information about OER and copyright:
Find eBooks owned by this Library
Public Relations Journal
The Public Relations Journal, published by the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), is an open-access electronic research journal focusing on the fields of public relations and communications.
International Journal of Communication
An online, multi-media, academic journal that adheres to the highest standards of peer review and engages established and emerging scholars from anywhere in the world.
An open access peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy.
Launch! Advertising & Promotion in Real Time
Launch! follows a real advertising campaign from initial agency pitch through roll-out of print and media assets to post-campaign analysis.
Lots of speeches. Includes audio and transcripts. Maintained by Michael E. Eidenmuller, professor of communications at UT Tyler.
Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
Tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.
OER Commons - communication studies
A digital content hub offering a suite of quality OER supports.
Search full-text of books. In advanced search, select "full view only" and "books."
Open Textbook Library - public speaking
The textbook provides a comprehensive discussion of topics related to public speaking, including focused chapters on commonly assigned informative, persuasive, and entertaining speeches.
OAPEN builds a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences, and develops services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
Archive of American Television
Founded in 1997, the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television has conducted over 800 oral history interviews (over 4000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves, and make the interviews available worldwide.
A public media service of WGBH that collects thousands of video and audio lectures from the world's foremost scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policymakers, and community leaders, made available to the public for free.
Data & Statistics
American National Election Studies
To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation.
Pew Research Center - journalism & media
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
The Center’s mission is to collect, preserve, and disseminate public opinion data; to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research; and to broaden the understanding of public opinion through the use of survey data in the United States and abroad.