Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note to Faculty
Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible online teaching and learning materials. They can be videos, textbooks, quizzes, learning modules and more. Using OER in your classroom will improve student engagement and success, provide immediate, equitable access to resources, save money for your students, and provide you a venue to use flexible, high-quality learning materials in your individualized curriculum. This guide collects the best-of-the-best OER and organizes them by college and department. Take a look and see what is available in your discipline.
- Open Textbook is a term used to indicate a Textbook that is fully OER.
- Public Resources are materials that are free, but licenses still protect the content in some way.
- Library Resources do not cost your students any money, and should also be considered as a means to lower the total cost of learning for your students.
- Affordable Learning Materials: course materials that cost students $50or less, in total.
Tips for finding and using OER and other affordable content:
- There are lots of OER materials out there. It takes time and persistence to find the ones that best fit your students' academic and research needs.
- Instead of focusing on the textbook that you want to replace, focus on what you want your students to know or do.
- Use the resources in this guide to find OER relevant to your discipline and courses. These links are great starting points but if you are not finding the OER that work for you, contact your subject librarian for personalized help.
- If you find an article in a library database that you want to use in a course, Library staff can help you with copyright considerations and provide access to the resource through reserves, embed in an online course, or on a website.
- Talk with your subject librarian with any questions you have about finding and using OER.
Links to more detailed information about OER and copyright:
Find eBooks owned by the Library
Find eBooks at Our Library
To find ebooks in the catalog, enter your search term in the box below and hit "search." Then, once you get the results, select "full text online" and "book / ebook" in the filters to the left of the results list.
Public History Review
Public History Review, an international peer reviewed journal, is concerned with nature and forms of public history: with ideas as to what constitutes the ‘public’ in history making, with the means by which history is communicated to a range of audiences and with the ways in which the past operates in the present.
American History TV
American History TV (AHTV) features programming that includes oral histories, academic lectures, presentations by historians, interviews with presidents and first ladies, archival films, and visits to historic sites, museums, and archives.
Harvard's Open Collections Program
OCP offers new, virtual collections of thematically linked material selected from numerous Harvard repositories.
Digital Public Library of American (DPLA)
Wide range of multimedia objects form libraries, archives and museums around the United States (so not international). The copyright status of items vary because it is collected from many sources. However, many items are public domain or available for re-use, and there is information in a "rights" field for each item.
World Digital Library
The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
Curating best in class learning materials from around the world since 2007.
CENDARI (Collaborative European Digital Archive Infrastructure)
Aims at providing and maintaining access to existing archives and resources in Europe for the study of medieval and modern European history.
University of Arizona Press Books
A collection of open-access University of Arizona Press titles. The scholarship, histories, and approaches in the selected titles emphasize the relevance of the southwestern United States to understanding contemporary American life. Open Arizona is part of the Humanities Open Book program, jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.
OpenEdition is a space dedicated to highlighting research, publishing tens of thousands of academic documents on open-access primarily focused on humanities and social sciences.
OpenStax - US History
This textbook has been created with several goals in mind: accessibility, customization, and student engagement—all while encouraging students toward high levels of academic scholarship. Instructors and students alike will find that this textbook offers a strong foundation in U.S. history in an accessible format.
Search full-text of books. In advanced search, select "full view only" and "books."
OAPEN builds a quality controlled collection of Open Access books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences, and develops services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of dissemination, quality assurance and digital preservation.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
Feature the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever.
A public media service of WGBH that collects thousands of video and audio lectures from the world's foremost scholars, authors, artists, scientists, policymakers, and community leaders, made available to the public for free.
Online resources for visual arts. Over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research.
Getty Museum - Open Content Program
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.