Interior Design
NOTE TO FACULTY
Open Educational Resources (OER) are educational materials and resources offered freely and openly for anyone to use and under some licenses to re-mix, improve and redistribute. This page provides links to resources relevant to your discipline. Use these links to find high-quality OER for your courses.
Tips for finding and using OER:
- There are lots of OER materials out there. It takes time and persistence to find the ones that best fit you and your students' academic and research needs.
- Instead of focusing on the textbook that you want to replace, focus on what you want your students to know or do.
- Use the resources on this page to find OER relevant to your discipline and courses. These links are great starting points, but if you need help finding the OER that work for you, contact your subject librarian for personalized help.
- If you find an article in a library database that you want to use in a course, Library staff can help you with copyright considerations and provide access to the resource through reserves, embed in an online course, or on a website.
- Talk with your subject librarian with any questions you have about finding and using OER.
Links to more detailed information about OER and copyright:
Find eBooks at Our Library
To find ebooks in the catalog, enter your search term in the box below and hit "search." Then, once you get the results, select "full text online" and "book / ebook" in the filters to the left of the results list.
Databases
Open Journals
Open Resources
The MIT Press Open Architecture and Urban Studies is a "robust digital collection of classic and previously out-of-print architecture and urban studies books, on their digital book platform MIT Press Direct. The collection was funded by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation as part of the Humanities Open Book Program, which they co-sponsored with the National Endowment for the Humanities".
Open Textbooks
- Directory of Open Access BooksAcademic, peer reviewed texts published Open Access.
- PressbooksBrowse our directory of over 5,000 books. Use Pressbooks Create to clone content from the directory and adapt it for your course.
- Tutorials of Visual Graphic Communication Programs for Interior DesignThis book is for the beginning level of both architecture and interior design students who learn computer graphic communication software. The author developed multiple tutorials to teach three computer graphic applications, AutoCAD, Revit, and Enscape. AutoCAD is an essential computer drafting software which is 2D drawing software. Revit is a Building Information Modeling software, which is 3D based modeling software. Lastly, Enscape is a real-time rendering, animation, and virtual reality plug-in for users' 4D experiences.
Images
- Library of Congress :: Gottscho-Schleisner CollectionThe Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures and document important achievements in American 20th-century architecture and interior design.