Always check Library Catalog for holdings before submitting a material request.
Do not resubmit a request if you do not see it processed in Library Catalog. Check with collection development first.
An “Add copy” is defined as a request for the exact same title we already own. Do not use this phrase unless it is the exact same edition and format.
An “Add copy” is only possible if a missing item has not been completely through the search process, or there is data indicating that a second copy is necessary or required.
4 is the maximum number of individual title copies that can be requested.If you need an exception, talk to Acquisitions/Collection Development.You can see or point out the official policy in the Collection Development policy, linked under Criteria for Selection of All Materials, Collection Development Procedures.
A replacement is defined as missing material that has been though the search process (item code 2 = 3 withdraw/replace in Sierra) OR is listed as “Lost and Paid.”
You can see the item code 2 status by logging in to the Staff View of the library catalog. Look at the item number at bottom.That is a link.Click on it and you will see the item code 2 at the top of the third column.No number indicates item is available, a 1 indicates it has been searched once, 2 searched twice, and 3 means it is ready for withdrawing or replacement.
When disapproving material requests in GOBI or ORS, contact the requestor and explain why item will not be requested.
Avoid purchasing current textbooks, unless:
they are requested by faculty (always suggest they send to reserves), or
it contains unique or primary information not found in other sources, or
it is available as multi-user/unlimited e-book.
When selecting a textbook for one of the above reasons, make sure you put a retention note (see next bullet) in the request for that textbook and for any earlier editions of that we might own.
When selecting any later edition of a title we already have in the collection (including textbooks), put a retention recommendation in the request for the earlier edition/s.
Never Weed
To Be Weeded
Send to Storage
Consider Storage
Keep Onsite
Weed only with New Ed.
Encourage faculty who request textbooks, to request as multiple or unlimited user e-book when available.(see GOBI selecting).
When purchasing films, DVD or streams, always use the institutional, educational or university price option. Look for mention of PPRs (public performance rights). PPRs in institutional/educational pricing models generally only mean for classroom use, not public use. If you see a license on the website, attach or link the page to the request.
When submitting requests to meet target dates, keep track of balances being sent by Acquisitions (weekly). Be aware that once material is ordered and paid for, more discounts may be applied, and the price is considerably lower than what was originally submitted. This causes the release of funds back into the fund code.
Check your SUGGEST folders weekly
Check any title in GOBI for holdings by clicking on linked ISBN, BUT then check the link source page by title.
Use the Standard search (under Search tab) for more complex searches, like to qualify or limit by pub. Year, format (print vs e-books), language, call number range, approval note etc.
When applying approval note limits to search, use the exact word or phrase they use.You will have to do a few searches of titles you might already know, to see how the approval note is written.
If you want colleagues to indicate why they are suggesting material, you should give them feedback if material is not going to be approved, or that you put in another fund code SUGGEST folder.(you can put in Library Note: Add... in the YBP e-slip)
Use Library Note: Add... (bottom of e-slip) to write a note for CD or another approver. Remember that these notes cannot be changed or deleted. They will stay there and anyone who pulls up that title in OUR system (this can include faculty) will see your note.
Any note you put into GOBI will automatically show your initials and the date to any note you add.
Remember that GOBI often includes tables of content and reviews (Choice, LJ, Kirkus, PW) in the e-slip (in the box on the right hand side).
Data regarding holdings on the right hand side is not always accurate (info in put in as an ISBN dump once or twice a year.Material might be added or weeded in the interim, so always check the ISBN link rather than believing what the holdings are on the right.
Key to what the holdings in GOBI mean:
slip sent (9/19/2007) – title fall into our profile, a print slip or e-slip was sent, but this does not mean we own or bought.
already owned by library – we owned at the time of the “dump” still need to check the catalog via the ISBN link to see if we still have.
alt-ed already owned by library- if this is print, we might already own the e-book or vice versa.
exported (3/4/2011)- if it is a recent date, means we purchased, but if is a year before or more, you still need to check current holdings
alt-ed exported (8/6/2014) –same as above, but alternate edition (e-book vs. print)
shipped to library (8/23/2013)- again, if a recent enough date, we should have, but older dates, check for holdings.
alt-ed shipped to library (4/22/2013)- same as above, but it was an alternate edition (e-book vs print or vice versa)
on standing order – library purchases annually via serials allocation, do not order.
When you do a large search, you can sort results by a variety of bibliographic criteria (author, title, pub. Date, publisher, etc.)
You can filter your search results by notes and availability categories.
Other notes on right hand side of e-slips:
alternate editions (2P/0E) –there will be a pull down arrow, this will let you select another edition (paper/cloth/e-book/print) take you to another screen where you can see the other editions of this same title. Once you get to that page, you can click on “go back” button at top, and it will return you to your original search list.
library activity (18 sold) – how many other libraries have purchased. May give you an idea of how popular a title is or is going to be.
Do not create folders that are Shared except for your subject area L or F and your subject/s SUGGEST folders.Make all your folders, except those mentioned above, Personal.
Be sure you follow the folder protocol for SUGGEST, L and F folders.This is necessary to keep the folders in numeric order.Ex. 81F Nursing, 81L Nursing, or SUGGEST 81 Nursing
You can limit your search to JUST textbooks (but you cannot omit them), if you want to suggest or push e-book versions to your faculty (to keep them from requesting print copies).
E-book may not always exist or be purchasable via GOBI, but if you want to see or create a list of e-textbooks available in GOBI, put in the subject, keyword or LC range and the word TEXTBOOK in the Approval Note field in the standard search page.This will pull up just textbooks.
If you want to send titles to your faculty to review from GOBI, you can do a search or from you alert, mark all the titles you want, and then click on the save icon (upper right).Once you have done that you can:
Save the file type as Tab Delimited (radio button defaults to this)
List will save
Open Excel
Click on Data, and select From Text (get external data section, meaning import from a text file)
Will open window, select “downloads.”Look for ItemsList_2015(year with 2 digit month and day, and some more numbers).You may have several from before, look for that day’s date, time, etc.
Select that Items list, and click on Import
Should default to delimited, if it does not, select delimited.
Should default to Tab (should have a check in box).
Click on Next until you get to Finish.
Will pull up an excel file with lots of columns.You can delete the columns you don’t want, or cut and paste the columns you want into another excel file/workbook.
Either way, name it what you want (defaults to Book1), and save as an excel workbook.
Use the Links tab in GOBI to get at other YBP links that can help you find lists of material, like the publishers list. This will show you subject specific publishers you can use or search. You will find a link to YBPs Annual Book Price updates. This list shows number of titles published in LC areas by types of publishers (Academic or Commercial), and the average price of a book in that subject area.
Check GOBI Spotlight lists (for pre-vetted title lists by subject, LC area, reviewing entity or award, etc.) also linked as a tab at the top of GOBI once you log in.
Check your ORS notifications regularly (that is, don’t let the notifications pile up for more than a few days.
Always put price in your ORs requests or requests you are approving, if the requestor did not include.This will allow you (and us) to see the total amount you are submitting.This is particularly helpful if you are submitting multiple requests.This helps you and Acquisitions track amounts being submitted in your fund code/s.
When submitting faculty requests via ORs, when filling in “Requestor Status” in the order request form, mark Faculty, not Librarian as the status of the requestor.So if you are submitting for them, we will know that it is a faculty request.This is important for your metrics and we give priority to faculty requests, particularly when funds are low.
When approving ORs request submissions from faculty or students, checking catalog or periodicals list before approving.
If material is already owned (this happens a lot), contact the request submitter and let them know we already own the material and how to access it.
Check to make sure all bibliographic info is filled in (this includes price).
If you think a request is more appropriate to another subject area, remember you can forward to another fund code.Change the dept. using the pull down, then click the forward radio button, then submit.
Once you click submit button, you must click the confirm button on the next screen, or the request will not go through.
Don’t log in to ORs and walk away or delay too long before submitting your request.It will time you out or give you an error message if you wait too long to submit.
You can export lists of titles (like your approved or disapproved titles) by pulling up the category/group and clicking the export button at the bottom of the screen.
If you need a list of all titles you have submitted via your fund/s or other funds, ask CollDev to send you a list.