Collection Development
The Collection Development program’s function is to determine what the library will collect to best serve the university’s needs. It involves collaboration and consultation between librarians and faculty members to address the needs of existing and new programs, departmental curriculum and research interests. It involves approaches to material selection as well as methods for evaluating subject collections. Each academic department of Texas State University has a faculty library representative, as well as a subject librarian, assigned to select, collect and submit material requests for their department.
- Collection Development Procedures
- Collection Development Policy outlines policies and procedures governing the collection development program
- Order Request Form (ORS) for submitting library material requests
- Liaison Table lists both department faculty library representatives and the subject librarian
- Library Liaison Program
- Library Collection Assessments (for program reviews and accreditations) are a function of the Collection Development unit is the library contact for academic departments
For further information contact Acquisitions staff. For material selections related to specific academic departments, you may contact the department faculty library representative or the subject librarian under the name of the academic department in the Liaison List.
Using a Subject search, individual departments can search/track departmental orders in the Library Catalog from fiscal year 2002-present.
Click on Subject in the search box type the fiscal year, followed by the fund code number. The information it pulls up will display 2044f and 2044l - L (for orders submitted by Librarian) or F (for orders submitted by Faculty).
20 is the fiscal year, 2020 -- 44 is the department fund code number
