Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University Archives is currently open for in-person and virtual assistance. Research appointments are required so that materials can be pulled form preservation storage and acclimated to room temperature before use.
For those who would prefer to research remotely, we offer virtual assistance. To request a research appointment, request a Zoom consultation, or to ask questions about University History in general, please complete the Ask an Archivist form. We are happy to talk with you via e-mail or Zoom - let us know how we can help with your research.
Alkek Library, Room 580
Research by appointment
The University Archives is physically located on the 5th floor of the Alkek Library. Research appointments at Alkek or the ARC are generally available Monday through Friday between 8:30am and 4:30pm (excluding holidays and energy conservation days).
Research appointments are required to allow time for retrieval of offsite materials, to reserve research space, and to allow staff to sanitize the space between researchers. Walk-in assistance is dependent on staff and space availability, as researchers with appointments are given priority. Masks are encouraged while in the Alkek Library and in the University Archives.
For questions or assistance, please Ask an Archivist.
Sources for historical research
A wide variety of topics related to university history are documented in the University Archives. The archives is a research collection that holds many primary source materials — original records that exist only in the University Archives — that are available for research by appointment; please e-mail to request an appointment and staff will be happy to help identify any related materials.
Students, faculty, and staff have researched and written about a variety of historical topics related to the institution. While these publications are often available in print from in both the general collection and the University Archives, some are also available in digital format — a few of which are described below. To search for a topic not included in the examples below or in the drop-down menu above, visit the Digital Collections page and use the search feature.
Also, be sure to check information included in other tabs on this research guide!
Digital Collections at Texas State University
The Digital Collections repository is a service that provides free and open access to the scholarship and creative works produced and owned by the Texas State University community.
During 2013, the University Archives will be engaged in planning the University Archives section; until that section is created, the digitized publications related to the history of the university are linked from the library's catalog and are searchable on the Digital Collections page.
Laws establishing and maintaining Texas State Teachers Colleges, compiled by C. E. Evans.
Time period: 1879-1943
Evans compiled a list of legislative references, from the General and Special Laws of Texas, related to the creation and evolution of teachers colleges. For legislation after 1943, see the General and Special Laws of Texas (located in the general collection).
Early History of the Pedagog
Time period: 1904-1925
This 1941 thesis by Margaret McQuary analyzes the first 21 years of the student yearbook and traces the history of student societies, clubs, and organizations. It also includes information about the Pedagog staff from 1904-1925.
A History of the Southwest Texas State Teachers College
Time period: 1903-1939
This thesis by Roger French covers the early history of the college plant, internal development, and student activities. It also includes brief sketches of presidents Thomas G. Harris and C.E. Evans.
History of Teacher Education at Southwest Texas State University
Time period: 1903-1977
The dissertation by Ben Wilson Jr. (Baylor University) covers the creation of the Normal School, the growth of the institution, and its evolving purpose.
The Death of Evans Field: The End of an Era
Time period: circa 1919-1980
Written by Dr. James W. Pohl for the October 1980 issue of Hillviews, the article reflects on this history of Evans Field as the new athletic stadium was under construction.
The Story of Riverside
Time period: 1915-1944
Written in 1944 by Chloe Walker Sanborn, this thesis traces the evolution of the college recreational center known as Riverside and the many contributions of Dr. S.M. Sewell and his wife.
Time period: 1911-1942
The core of this story is a biography of Dr. Cecil Eugene Evans who was President of Southwest Texas State 1911-1942. This is also the story of the Teacher’s Colleges in Texas and the struggle to survive and thrive in the first half of the 20th century. The author of this book, Tom Nichols, was secretary to President Evans and a member of the teaching faculty for many years.
The Administration of John Garland Flowers
Time period: 1942-1964
This narrative begins with an overview of the history of the college to 1942, when Flowers became president. Remaining chapters describe the growth of the institution's academics and the physical plant during President Flowers' administration, 1942-1964.
The University Archives holds official university records, donated materials from friends and alumni, and subject files related to various buildings, property, programs, and events. Researchers interested in in-depth study may find these materials to be a rich source of information.
Prior to making an appointment, please send an e-mail with the specific research request so that staff can determine if there are relevant materials in the archives. Researchers are also welcome to schedule an initial reference consultation with an archivist to discuss research needs. Please remember that while some topics are well-documented there are still many gaps in our historical record.
Potential research topics
There are a number of topics that have yet to be researched and placed within their respective historical contexts. The following subjects are represented in primary resources held by the University Archives (but will likely require additional external research to complete the history):
- College farm
- Campus elementary school
- Campus high school