The LBJ Collection
Gathered by the university's News Service over several decades, the University Archives holds a variety of subject files related to LBJ and his impact on the campus. Many things within this collection are digitized and available in Digital Collections under the Lyndon Baines Johnson Collection.
LBJ as a Student
Texas State University is the only college in Texas to have graduated a U.S. president. Johnson began his studies in San Marcos in 1927 and received a bachelor of science and a permanent high school teaching certificate in August 1930. According to his transcript, his major was history, and he had a double minor in English and social sciences. A copy of his transcript is available (see page 1 and page 2); refer to the undergraduate catalogs for descriptions of the courses he took in college.
For more information, see the LBJ on Campus digital exhibition and the LBJ100 oral history collection.
Some of the publications detailing LBJ's time in San Marcos include:
- The Student Editorials of Lyndon Baines JohnsonCompilation of the signed student editorials of Lyndon Baines Johnson from 1927 and 1928 when he served as editor of the school newspaper, the College Star. Johnson attended Southwest Texas State Teachers College from 1927-1930.
- LBJ as a Student EditorBrief article about LBJ and his work as an editor of the College Star newspaper. Originally Published in The Quill (a magazine published by the Society of Professional Journalists) in February 1964, Pp. 18-19.
- Connections: Lyndon B. Johnson in San MarcosComplied by the university to commemorate the LBJ100 celebration, this publication details the unique relationship Johnson had with his Alma Mater, now Texas State University-San Marcos, from his days as a student to his last visit to campus just 6 days before his death in January, 1973.
- Lyndon B. Johnson: The Formative YearsThis book is a story of the pioneer background and the home, educational, and environmental factors that influenced the early life of LBJ. There are also chapters on his days as a student at Southwest Texas State Teachers College.
- Rugged SummitThe core of this story is a biography of Dr. Cecil Eugene Evans who was President of Southwest Texas State 1911-1942. Chapter 17, "President Evans and the Future President," includes recollections about LBJ's student days.
LBJ as a Student
LBJ as a student at SWTTC
1928 Pedagog
1928 Pedagog
1930 Pedagog
1930 Pedagog
1930 Pedagog
1931 Pedagog
1931 Pedagog
LBJ After Graduation
While there are many books about LBJ, those listed below are available through the Digital Collections. Note that print editions of these materials, along with many additional publications, are available in the Alkek Library and are searchable via the online catalog.
- The Early Political Life of Lyndon B. Johnson, 1931-1937Thesis by Edwin William Knippa, Jr., 1967.
- The LBJ the Nation Seldom SawBy Robert L. Hardesty.
Originally published by Southwest Texas State University, 1983. Prepared to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the birthdate of Lyndon Baines Johnson, 36th President of the United States and Distinguished Alumnus of Southwest Texas State University. - Progressivism in Texas: The Origins of LBJ's Educational PhilosophyThesis by Gene B. Preuss, 1993.
Other Resources for LBJ Research
- LBJ TimelineIn the LBJ Student Center, 3rd floor
- Official LBJ Visits at SWTSUDates originally compiled by the University News Service and verified by records in the University Archives.Cite as: [document title], LBJ Collection, University Archives, Texas State University