Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University Archives is currently open for in-person and virtual assistance. Research appointments are required so that materials can be pulled form preservation storage and acclimated to room temperature before use.
For those who would prefer to research remotely, we offer virtual assistance. To request a research appointment, request a Zoom consultation, or to ask questions about University History in general, please complete the Ask an Archivist form. We are happy to talk with you via e-mail or Zoom - let us know how we can help with your research.
Alkek Library, Room 580
Research by appointment
The University Archives is physically located on the 5th floor of the Alkek Library. Research appointments at Alkek or the ARC are generally available Monday through Friday between 8:30am and 4:30pm (excluding holidays and energy conservation days).
Research appointments are required to allow time for retrieval of offsite materials, to reserve research space, and to allow staff to sanitize the space between researchers. Walk-in assistance is dependent on staff and space availability, as researchers with appointments are given priority. Masks are encouraged while in the Alkek Library and in the University Archives.
For questions or assistance, please Ask an Archivist.
Searching for information about an ancestor who attended SWT / Texas State?
Genealogists are encouraged to perform their own research to learn more about what their ancestor(s) experienced while attending this school. The following publications are available in the general collection during regular library hours. Researchers are also welcome to use the materials in the University Archives; please send an e-mail to request a research appointment.
Pedagog (student yearbook)
All issues are available online and can be searched by keyword. Bound issues are available in the Alkek Library (Floor 5) at AS36.T4 P13.
The student yearbook is a rich source of information about campus, especially in the early years of the school. Read through the Pedagog learn about extracurricular activities, the size of the campus, and notable events during the academic year.
Undergraduate and graduate course catalogs are now available online in Digital Collections - click the link above to see the catalogs listed in chronological order.
Course catalogs provide a campus overview as well as information about diplomas/certificates/degrees offered throughout the school’s history. Did you know that prior to 1919 only teaching certificates and diplomas were awarded? Print versions of the catalog are available in the Alkek Library (Floor 5) at AS36.T4 A2 (undergraduate catalog) and AS36.T4 A22 (graduate catalog).
General Genelogical Resources
Looking for more information beyond attendance at Southwest Texas State / Texas State University? Check out this short list of additional sources that can help start your genealogical research.
A free resource for Texas residents, offered through the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
A free resource for genealogical information.
Find A Grave
Find-a-Grave can be very helpful when tracing ancestors, especially if someone has already linked parents and siblings to a record. It is a free, crowd-sourced resource.
Accessible by members of the Texas State community (requires a netID login), this database is one option for searching family history.
National Archives Resources for Genealogists
The National Archives provides guidance and tools for researching your family history.
WikiTree is a free crowd-sourced genealogical resource that can assist individuals with tracing ancestors.
Researching Your Family's History from Ships Passenger Lists
A guide to resources. The information on these lists include age, who they traveled with, what ship they took if they traveled first-class or steerage, what port they sailed from and what port they landed at, and their occupation when they took the journey.
House History and Genealogy
A guide to resources. Have you ever wondered who else has called a particular house their home?
Request dates of enrollment
The University Archives does not maintain any student records.
To request information about an ancestor's dates of enrollment or diplomas/certificates/degrees earned, researchers may send an e-mail to Registrar@txstate.edu along with the following required information: the name the student used while enrolled, the birth date of the student, and the approximate years of attendance.
Note: FERPA rules apply to the release of student information.